Alabama Polygraph Examiners Board

Skip Navigation Links

Polygraph Examiners Act
(Code of Alabama)

Rules and Regulations
Consumer Information
Equipment
Board Members
Examiners License Annual Renewal Form
Schools Recognized by the APEB
Upcoming Events
 

Consumer Information

The Alabama Polygraph Examiners Board presents the following information concerning the regulatory functions of this board. Also included is general information concerning polygraph testing and equipment that the Board feels will be helpful to the general public.

The minimum instrument standard:

A person purporting to detect deception or to verify truth of statements through the use of an instrument must use an instrument which records visually, permanently and simultaneously:

(1) A subject’s cardiovascular pattern;
(2) A subject’s respiratory pattern; and
(3) A subject’s galvanic skin response.

The use of any instrument or device to detect or to verify truth of statements which does not meet these minimum instrumentation requirements is prohibited.

The minimum standard for a polygraph examiner:

A polygraph examiner must be 21 years of age, a citizen of the United States with no criminal background. He must hold a baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university or, in lieu thereof, have five consecutive years of active investigative experience immediately preceding his application for polygraph licensing. He must have attended a Board approved polygraph examiners’ course and satisfactorily completed not less than six months of internship training. He must pass the Board’s polygraph examiners licensing examination at the conclusion of his internship. A licensed examiner is required to obtain at least 12 hours of continuing education yearly.

The minimum standard for polygraph examinations:

A polygraph examination consists of:

(1) A pre-test interview,
(2) Chart examination, and
(3) A post-test interview.

In the pre-test interview the examiner becomes acquainted with the examinee and reviews the questions he will be asking during the actual examination. The chart examination takes place when the examinee is connected to the instrument and asked the questions previously discussed. A minimum of two charts (tests) must be given. The post-test interview is the period after the examination when the examiner and examinee discuss the test results. At this time the examinee is given a reasonable opportunity to explain any reactions to questions which are evident on the polygraph charts.

Complaints:
Individuals wishing to file a complaint against a polygraph examiner should contact this Board and ask for an official complaint form. When the form is returned to the Board the complaint will be reviewed by the Board’s complaint committee and the necessary investigation will be initiated. The complaining individual will be kept apprised of the investigation and Board’s actions concerning the complaint.



© 2022 Alabama Law Enforcement Agency